The group-stage draw for the Fifa U-20 Women’s World Cup 2022 is just around the corner and teams have been divided into four different seeding pots in advance.

A total of 16 teams have qualified for the global football showpiece. Apart from Costa Rica who automatically qualifies as host, 15 teams qualify from six continental competitions.

However, what sort of group could they end up in?

How does the Fifa U20 Women’s World Cup 2022 draw work?

Competition draws can be tricky to follow, but we have a simplified description of the procedure and constraints below.

General procedure

The 16 teams that have qualified for the tournament have been divided into four pots.
The draw will start with four pots labelled 1 to 4 representing the teams. The four pots representing the groups will be labelled A to D.
In each pot, there will be four balls containing the position numbers 1, 2, 3 and 4 of each respective group, with each pot being completely emptied before moving on to the next pot.

Participating countries

Costa Rica qualified automatically as hosts, while the remaining 15 spots were determined by the qualifying rounds.

Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, France, Germany, Ghana, Japan, Korea Republic, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Spain, and the USA.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.